A PR and Group Run

Where did the weekend go?

Saturday I ran a local 5 mile Turkey Trot. Prior to the race I had a few goals in my mind. My first goal was to run under 32, around 32, 31:40, or just come in the top 5. I picked under and around 32:00 because my best is a 32:38 (I think); then I chose a 31:40 because I figured it’s 5, 6:20 paced miles, I can do that. It was a nice late start which allowed me to eat my normal breakfast, relax a bit, and then head over to the race. It was a coooooold windy morning.

I got to the race around 9:45, went to the bathroom a few times, and then did my warm up. Around 10:40,  I went to use the bathroom again (I think this was my fourth time while at the race) and the line was ridiculous. I jogged around looking for Port-A-Potties (there are bunch around people’s houses right now because of the rebuilding from the hurricane), but they were all locked up! Finally I ran up onto the boardwalk near the start and found the bathroom but of course the women’s bathroom was locked! We all just decided to let the men use the urinals and we would use the stalls.

After I used the bathroom, again, I ran down to the start. It was insanely crowded and I pushed and dodged my way to the front. I took off some of my throw-a-way clothes and left on one long sleeve. Right at 11:00 we were off. One of the runners there I have yet to beat; we see each other at a lot of local races and she usually just beats me. About half a mile in I thought oh wow, do I feel my half marathon from a two weeks ago! I didn’t know how the rest of the race would go. I just made sure to keep this girl within my reach and do what I know I can (one girl was way out in front).  Around mile 2.5, I made my move and passed my friendly rival (I tried taking her with me) and I just kept telling myself to push the pace. I did just that and I felt pretty good. I don’t wear a garmin when I run; I wear a $5 Walmart watch so I have no idea what my individual miles were but I passed the clocks around these times (someone said they think mile 2 – 3 was off or was it 3 – 4…I don’t remember).

Mile 1 : 6:09, Miles 2: 12:34, Mile 3: 19:01, Mile 4: 25:24 (I think, to be honest, I don’t even remember if I looked at their clock or at my watch after passing the 4th mile), and Mile 5: 31:39/31:40 (I’m not sure which one it is, they have me at 31:39, but I think I might have been 31:40).

Whether it’s 31:39 or 31:40, it is still a PR after an awesome racing season. I came in 2nd female overall. Unfortunately, I missed the award ceremony because I thought it was back at the bar it started at and not the finish line. I’ll survive! I’ll take a PR over any award, prize, etc any day!

Sunday morning was the first cold cold windy windy run of the season. Saturday was cold and windy as in the low 40s with 15mph winds. Sunday OMG it was low 20s and 30mph winds (no joke on those winds). Sunday night one of my pots that made it through Hurricane Sandy outside my house fell and shattered every where. Lets just say if it weren’t for the group run Sunday I don’t know if I would have gotten out of my warm bed to run in that weather. Once we got going, it was still that cold. I had no run distance on my schedule; I was able to talk a few people into running 12 with me which was nice. Final run 12.2, 1:34:17. done.and.done!

After the run, it was one of our fellow runners birthdays. We went inside to the fireplace and celebrated before we all headed home for Sunday football.

Sunday Group Run Crew

Sunday Group Run Crew

(They always throw me into the middle so I’m hunched over in that pose; it’s become a let’s all make fun of Meagan!)

How was your weekend?

Do you run with a group? Does it help you stay motivated in the winter months?

3 thoughts on “A PR and Group Run

Leave a Reply

