Miles versus Time

Happy Friday everyone!!! Anyone have fun and exciting plans this weekend? I have an ugly Christmas sweater party tomorrow night and I am stoked! I am actually making my sweater and I cannot wait to show/share the final sweater with everyone! I hope it wins the contest!!

Yesterday,  I ran for an easy hour. It was cold and windy, but I made it through! I actually just tried not to even think about the weather while I was running. I was just kind of running; I don’t even remember if I thought about anything during my run (I’m sure I did but I don’t recall).

After my run, I came home, put on some sweats and waited to go pick up my puppy! It was great seeing his cute little face and watch him jump and get excited when he saw me. The ride home he kept licking my face and trying to push himself on my lap!

**********************

http://www.runnersworld.com/running-tips/running-time-vs-distance

Often my friends ask this question….. How many miles do you do in a week? How many miles do you a day?

To be quite honest, I don’t really run miles. I run rather for my time. In HS we ran miles, my first two years of college we ran for miles, and my last two years of college we ran for time. To be quite honest running for time has helped me a tremendous amount. I don’t get crazy thinking, “OMG, I ran 6 miles and it took me 50 minutes. Now I’ll have to run faster tomorrow.” 

When I started working with my coach, my one must continue was to run for time rather than miles with the exception for Sundays. I used to go on two hours runs on Sundays until I started running with my running group. Usually we run at a place that has mile markers and well that’s that. I don’t really mind that; however, if I have to miss a group run or no one can get together (which is rare), I will go for either an hour and a half to two hours depending on what that Sunday called for.

I am pretty good at knowing my pace and how many estimated miles I have run. For example, I know 2 hours is usually anywhere from 15 – 16 miles depending on my speed for that day. If I am running a recovery run, an hour usually translate to 7 -7.5 miles and so on. Another time I will run for miles is during a workout; that is a must. If I am running on the track I will run a 15 minute warm-up (don’t know miles), do my workout (track mileage), and cool down 15 minutes (no track of mileage). If I am on the treadmill then I track mileage and to be honest…. I HATE IT! I hate being to track my pace and distance even if I know it is supposed to be an easy day. It’s just a mental battle I am continuing to overcome when it comes to running on the treadmill.

So for me, I will continue to do time instead of miles with the exception of said exceptions. 

I also DON’T OWN A GPS WATCH. I’ll be 100% honest with you, I had no idea what they were until I started coaching at Monmouth University in 2007. In HS and college they were NEVER even talked about; one of my coach in college holds many NYU records and yet didn’t believe in them. So to this day, I don’t own one and it doesn’t bother me or my coach. Maybe one day I will get one (as a present), but until then I am content without one!

Here’s an interesting article from Runner’s World Magazine on Time Versus Distance in case you want more insight then just some crazy runner blogger!

**********************

Oh and because I am truly obsessed! Look at all the chips on my VitaTop this morning! I thought yesterday’s had a lot!

I actually stopped counting how many chips!

I actually stopped counting how many chips!

Do you run for mileage or for time? Or both? Which do you prefer?

Any fun plans this weekend?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

